The Distant Shore

by stupendous man

““Promises were a lot like impressions. The second one didn’t count for much.”

 

After all this time, no matter how hard I tried,
I could never learn to give up hope
If you ever trace back your steps,
reach the horizon where we became you,
I’ll be waiting by this shore in your memory,
fighting the need to be loved and desire to live in the past
where I learnt the true meaning of your name
Where I learnt to let to go even before I could hold your hand
With every rising tide I wish to become one with it
And with every receding one I move further down the shore
One way or the other I will find you
or the endearing question of what life holds for me in the end
I do not wish for you to look back,
to seek the pain you walked away from
But the fear of losing you is overbearing and I’m held on to the sea
May the stars carry away your loss and greif as you grow distant
May the beauty you bring upon everything around you fill the void inside
May love seek you again to hold your hand when you need it most!

arisa

